Spaghetti Vegan Balls?

Probably not the kind of balls that Tramp would roll over with his nose to Lady…

By now it should be perfectly clear that I am a huge foodie. I like to think about food, prepare tasty meals and of course, eat πŸ™‚ Sometimes I get ideas for some dishes in the strangest place/time.

So, last week, when we were going to sleep and said our good-nights, it came to me: spaghetti with tomato sauce and vegan balls. I almost woke up my husband, because I was afraid I would forget it by the morning unless I share my brilliance.

vegan spagheti2

When I told him about my idea, he was amazed. Still not sure why, though. Was it because my recipe sounded so great or because he thought me nuts to think about food preparation in 1 A.M? Some things we’ll never know.

Now, let’s get started. Firstly, I cooked rice and corn spaghetti and set them aside. Our β€žmeatballs” weren’t really balls per say. More like falafels fried in olive oil once again, only smaller in diameter. So, ingredients were as follows: chickpea flour, grounded flax-seed, garlic powder, curry, onions, salt and filtered water.

Tomato sauce was easy enough: sautΓ©ed onions and garlic, then I added tomato juice and let it cook until it started to boil. Then I lowered the temperature, added a lot of black pepper and some Italian spice mix: rosemary, oregano, basil, parsley, mint and marjoram. Something was still missing… I had to add some pepper-eggplant chutney (ajvar), to give my sauce some extra body.

To top it all off, I grounded some cashew nuts, serving as Parmesan cheese. I’m not going to lie, it consumed a good portion of my time to prepare all this, and by the time I was finished, I could barely stand, especially after the whole work week and a gym session. But it was completely worth it to see my idea come to life… and in our tummies πŸ™‚

vegan spagheti

17 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Sounds tasty! I’ve just rediscovered my love for falafels. In Dubai, there’s a fastfood restaurant called Just Falafel which I order from almost every week.)

    Like

  2. I keep this recipe archived for future reference. It looks really tasty…
    Freaking nuts…

    Like

  3. Wow these look great! I made something very similar- “meat” balls using cauliflower and almonds! Glad to see other creative people out there! I look forward to reading more from you! Feel free to check out my blog anytime, I write about living an organic lifestyle on a budget (which meat-free meatballs help us to do!)

    Like

    • Thank you for stopping by and following our blog. We try to eat as many organic foods as we can, but in Serbia there isn’t many organic food choices easily obtainable. Certain improvement can be noticed, but it is still far from enough. Another obstacle we face is that organic food here can be pretty expensive, so we combine, mix and match! πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. That looks amazing! I’m sure many people would easily mistake it for real meatballs and parmesan cheese. The idea of ground cashew nuts sounds really intriguing… I will have to try it when I have some free time (and lots of energy) on my hands. πŸ™‚

    Like

Share Your Thoughts With Us:

