Color Me Blue Dessert

Blue was the sky, the day you came into my life. Eons passed and I waited you, but the warmth of your soul has remained in my heart since our previous life. Your lesson of love is melting on my lips and I wait. I will search you in eternity…     

Another weekend, time for another dessert! Theme for last week’s treat were blueberries. Those dark blue round suckers are super-healthy, full of Vitamin C and antioxidants, so you should definitely incorporate them in your diet if you haven’t already.

Here in Serbia fresh blueberries aren’t always available, but frozen or dried are, so I used those. Again, the inspiration for this beauty was ingenious Heather Pace, from the Sweetly Raw blog. These days it is my go to blog for raw vegan recipes. Still being quite new in a field of raw desserts, I tend to keep to recipes, with slight variations. When I gain a little more confidence, I can start experimenting more.

This time I was determined to create more of a cheesecake, so I put all my faith in our old food processor. It did a solid job on the crust: walnuts, dates, coconut flakes and vanilla bean powder.

For a creamy part I decided to stick with blender. So, in there went frozen blueberries, soaked and drained cashews, again some coconut flakes, a little water and kuzu (kudzu), because I can’t find Irish moss gel in Serbia. Only very dried Irish moss. If I would to make a larger batch, I wouldn’t need to add water, but for 2 servings there isn’t enough weight to ingredients to keep them near blender knives. Anyway, last, but not the least, 1.5 teaspoons of green stevia powder. We’ve recently found green stevia, as opposed to white powder we were using until then. I find that white, processed stevia is sweeter and has less “herby” taste to it. I kinda like that, but keep telling myself the green one is more natural thus, better. Still getting used to it, I guess. Also, I omitted the lemon juice from the original recipe simply because I didn’t have it at the moment, but I believe that a tad of sourness would complement the sweetness of the crust even more.

I was wondering what dish to use for this treat and while messing in the kitchen, found this glass container that we previously used as lunch box, like a healthier alternative to plastic one. It fitted perfectly. Yummy, sticky crust on the bottom, followed with bluish-purple cream and dried blueberries.

Stick it in a fridge for at least a few hours or maybe freezer if making this dessert during summer and then… enjoy the taste of fruity-nutty deliciousness! 🙂

6 Comments

Add yours →

  1. MMMMMMMM,… It looks superb & really inviting too!

    Like

  2. Mmm, I want to try this out sometime! Looks so creamy and delicious. Maybe I’ll even switch from blueberries to cranberries for the holiday season. 🙂

    Like

Share Your Thoughts With Us:

