Chocolate Hazelnut Cream Pie

Knowing your real beauty is a privilege. To feel you and taste you is truly to know you…

Chocolate-Cremy-Delight_0297-large

This was just warming up for the New Year’s dessert marathon that came a few days after. You only need a little of this strong, chocolaty pie to satisfy even the biggest sweet craving.

Inspiration and guide for this treat was this recipe. I always link original recipes for two reasons: it seems fair to acknowledge the author and I am so bad at recipes. When I see something I like, I just take the ingredients into consideration, and sometimes the ‘how to’ process. Never cared too much about the measurements, but I like to do things by how they feel. It is so liberating to create meals like that.

For crust, instead of hazelnut meal I used regular raw hazelnuts mixed in a food processor, with dates, cocoa powder, dash of vanilla and a pinch of Himalayan pink salt. I pressed it in a glass container, the same one I used for our blueberry dessert.

Over that I layered filling: blended soaked raw cashews, peanut butter, coconut oil, cocoa powder, again dates and water as needed.

Finally, quick chocolate glaze/sauce: coconut oil, cocoa powder and stevia.

Since I didn’t follow recipe carefully I missed the part about how to freeze and transfer it out of the container, so you can get the nice pieces out. That’s why mine looks so… messy. Nevertheless, the taste is rich and creamy. The filling had an unintentional ginger aroma, because I kept ginger in a bag near cashews. Yeah, that happened.

I always had a sweet tooth. That was probably inherited from my grandma, who has a lot of talent for making beautiful looking (and tasting!) desserts. For many years, I fantasized of becoming a pastry chef, because I was like a thrilled child around cakes. Making them, baking them, decorating them (and eating!) was so special. When we switched from a standard diet to macrobiotics and later, veganism I almost forgot about that passion of mine. But with becoming raw vegan, that love for desserts blossomed like a beautiful flower. I LOVE making raw sweets! And knowing that they are healthy is such a boost of enthusiasm! I’m not sure will this ever be something more than a hobby, a passion of mine, but it would be wonderful to do this for a living. Who knows, maybe one day? Buddha said: “What you think you become”. I’m going to take that literally, so: “I am a raw pastry chef, I am a raw pastry chef, I am a raw pastry chef…” 🙂

13 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Hi Mladen and Milica! Thank you for visiting my blog and the follow. You have an interesting blog here with lots of yummy recipes. I am going to check these often 🙂

    Like

  2. I knew the original recipe & loved that so I will love this! 🙂

    Like

  3. Looks delicious! I’m drooling over here and need to go make a snack before I continue looking at food blogs, haha.

    Like

  4. I’m just drooling… looks amazing!

    Like

  5. Wait! This looks totally fantastic!! Did I REALLY commit to a New Year’s diet limiting desserts? Let’s see how long I last. Only enough time to get to the grocery store for these ingredients!

    Like

Share Your Thoughts With Us:

