Raw Bell Pepper Boats

Sail away on waves of deliciousness…

Stuffed peppers and stuffed zucchini are meals we grew up on. Relatively easy to make, usually in large quantities, so you can have ready lunch for a few days. A dream of every woman! With some added sour cream and a loaf of bread that was a perfect, filling lunch. No wonder then that I instantly liked the dolma stuffed peppers from our friend on Life Diet Health blog.

I loved the idea of combining the pine nuts with raisins, so I had to give it a try. The recipe had a little raw makeover and this is what I came up with in the end:

Raw Vegan Bell Pepper Boats

Ingredients:

  • 200 grams of soaked buckwheat (few hours, until soft)
  • 100 grams of soaked pine nuts (6-8 hours)
  • 4 teaspoons of nutritional yeast
  • 50 grams (or more) of soaked raisins (20-30 minutes)
  • 2 teaspoons of salt water sole (or salt to taste)
  • 2 teaspoons of garlic powder (or to taste)
  • black pepper to taste
  • 3 large bell peppers

Drain and rinse the pine nuts and pop them in a food processor. Add nutritional yeast, salt, garlic powder and black pepper and blend it until you get a creamy consistency. If you need, add a little water. After youโ€™re done, drain the buckwheat and place it in a bowl. Add your pine nut cream and drained raisins. Mix it all up.

De-seed bell peppers, cut them in half and fill them with buckwheat-pine nut-raisin mixture. Add on top some chopped chives and enjoy! We ate them with a large bowl of salad: lettuce, carrots, arugula and wild garlic.

Raw Vegan Bell Pepper Boats with Chives

The original recipe called for, among other herbs, dill. I had dill in the house, but decided not to use it, being afraid it will overpower pine nuts. We love pine nuts and they are pretty expensive here, so itโ€™s a once in a while treat. But, tasting this bell pepper boats, I could definitely see how fresh dill would perfectly tie the taste of pine nuts and raisins together. Next time, Gadget! Next time! ๐Ÿ™‚

23 thoughts on “Raw Bell Pepper Boats

  1. Looks yummy! I love stuffed peppers, but as the weather gets warmer, I’m going to be more reluctant to turn on the oven. I’ll have to give these a try. Such a great idea to make a raw version!

    P.S. I made your creamy olive dip over the weekend! Added a little vegan mayo to it for extra creaminess though. We absolutely loved the dip! I’m thinking of making it next time I have friends over for a party. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We love bell peppers and how the fresh ones crunch between the teeth! ๐Ÿ™‚ It is a challenge to raw-ify recipes without dehydrator, but I like to play with food ๐Ÿ˜›
      I am sooo glad that you tried and loved the olive dip. Great idea adding a vegan mayo for more creaminess! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      1. Mmm, the crunch of fresh bell peppers is always good. Your post inspired me to look into dehydrators. Some of the smaller ones aren’t too expensive, but I think i would prefer to save up for a stand mixer first. ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Next time I’m at the grocery store, I’ll have to pick up more cashews to make more dip and other creamy recipes!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, there are smaller and cheaper dehydrators, but knowing us, we’ll be using it like crazy, so we’re saving up for something more durable (and expensive ๐Ÿ˜› )
        Cashews and walnuts are my favorite for making denser, creamy dips, ‘crumbles’, patties etc. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

Share Your Thoughts With Us: