Raw Coconut Cupcakes

It seems like it’s been forever… But, now I have you in my life once again… I will never let you go… my dear coconut! 😀

It really does seem like ages passed since I posted the last coconut dessert. The truth is that we’ve been waiting for a new batch of raw coconut flakes to arrive and now they are finally here! We bought one kilogram of this aromatic magic and although it is a big bag, I doubt it will last us for long, having planned various treats with it.

From all the commercial candy in a wrapper, Bounty was always my favorite. Being a cuckoo for coconuts, one could never guess? Anyway, a few weeks ago I got the idea of trying to make my own Bounty. I didn’t want to fiddle with making bars and thinking how to coat them in chocolate with little to no mess, so I got my trusted cupcake paper liners, just to make my life a bit easier.

Frozen Raw Coconut Chocolate Covered Cupcakes

Coconut Layer

  • 200 grams raw coconut flakes
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla bean powder
  • 3-4 teaspoons of coconut sugar (or some liquid sweetener)
  • 2-3 tablespoons of melted coconut oil

In the food processor, mix the coconut flakes until you get crumbly and a little oily consistency. Add the rest of the ingredients and mix again. Press the mixture in the paper liners and put the lines in the muffin tray. If you, by any chance, don’t have muffin tray or like me, are just lazy to find it, you can use right size cups or coffee mugs, just to keep the liners from spilling when you add the chocolate. Pop them in a fridge or freezer while you prepare the topping.

Raw-Coconut-Cupcakes_1138

Chocolate Layer

  • 2 tablespoons of carob powder
  • 2 tablespoons of cacao powder
  • 3 teaspoons of coconut sugar (or some liquid sweetener)
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla bean powder
  • 4-5 tablespoons of melted coconut oil
  • 1 tablespoon of sunflower seed butter

Mix all the ingredients. If you have a coffee grinder, you can powder the coconut sugar to create the smooth texture more quickly. I didn’t do that and sugar still dissolved after a some mixing. Pour the chocolate over the coconut layer and add some coconut flakes on top. Put the cupcakes back into the fridge or freezer for a 1-2 hours. The plus side is that they don’t take too long to firm up.

Raw Coconut Chocolate Covered Cupcakes

Since we did our weekly food shopping yesterday, our fridge is super-full with greens, so our cupcakes are staying in the freezer. Before eating, let them thaw for a few minutes, depending on the fridge temperature. When the chocolate starts to melt just a little on your fingers… that’s the perfect time for a delight! 🙂

Raw Coconut Chocolate Covered Cupcakes

I did enjoy my cupcake very much. Come on, coconut and chocolate combination! How can you go wrong?! Still, I would add one thing to the coconut layer the next time. A little cashew butter or just soaked blended cashews, just to give it a bit creamier texture and less crumbly. You could probably add some coconut cream or milk, as well. We try to stay away from products in cans, so cashews will do just fine. Though Mladen is opposing that idea, saying he likes this biscuit-like texture. You have the options, choose to your liking and enjoy!

Your coco-nut(t)y hosts 🙂
M & M

Taking a bite of my raw coconut cupcake

32 thoughts on “Raw Coconut Cupcakes

  1. 🙂 They are in the freezer Milica! 🙂 and I tried to follow your recipe exactly (give or take a bit lol). Waiting… maybe a slice of my Mondays ‘E’ post (A-Z challenge) while I’m waiting! 😛 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, you’re fast! 🙂 Hope you had a lovely time in Istanbul! When it comes to recipes, I like creativity. If you check some of my earlier posts, most of them only included ingredients list, because I can feel a bit limited thinking about all the measurements 🙂 So, I urge you always to give your own twist to a recipe. It’s more fun that way! 🙂
      ‘E’ post? I cannot think of anything. Well, let me check the ‘D’ first and those yummy looking donuts! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. We had an amazing time in Istanbul thank you Milica☺. Loads to see and loads to eat too! I never used to add measurements until I realised that some people were too scared to cook without them… And those that weren’t would do as they please anyway! 😛 ‘E’ post… That was a tricky one to think of!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Beautiful sightseeing and yummy food – the two prime reasons to travel by my standards! 🙂 And you are right about the measurements, some people just like to follow a recipe more closely. I just remember the ingredients and wing it! 🙂 Can’t wait to see what you thought of for ‘E’ 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Milicaaaaaa! WOW! I’m so glad you got some coconut at last and made these! 🙂 They look so yummy! I wonder if I could persuade hubby that these are SO MUCH better than eating a fat laden processed bar of what is supposedly chocolate! 😛 Ooo and I found carob powder in Istanbul (much cheaper than at home)! I’m excited to make these but guess I’ll have to wait a few more days…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you darling, the new coconut recipe is already being created in my head 🙂 How to persuade him? Just make them and let the dessert do all the persuasion! 🙂 The traveling will make your ideas flourish, so when you come back, we are expecting a lot of yummy, creative recipes! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I like to keep 2 sets of paper cupcake liners handy. Plain ones for baking and pretty ones to slip on after baking, so they look extra pretty for photos! It’s been a while since I’ve baked cupcakes. I might have to get into that again soon.

        Mmm, the nuts and seeds are so good though! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Since I don’t bake anymore, I’m not super-informed on where to get paper cupcake liners, so I was excited when I found these. Those little ones, like for truffles are everywhere! 😀 Come on, jump on the cupcake train! 🙂
        And yes, nuts and seed are good… Too good actually. Overeating imminent! 😀

        Like

Share Your Thoughts With Us: